Pretty song

7:58 p.m., 2006-09-11

Ooooh I just finished reading this book called "Blood Ties" by Rosemary Hayes. It's cool. It's one of three books that's made me cry. That is sad. They all happenned this year. Great, huh?

Anyway, I found these song lyrics in the book. It's meant to go to this really nice song, in the story, and I believe it. The words are really nice. Nice... but sad. Here it is:

And will I ever see again the faces of my youth?
Will memories fade and blood ties severed be?
Will distance mean that I shall be a refugee for life?
My past wiped out and buried by the sea?

The innocents who left their native land
And boarded ship to seek a better life
How could they know, how could they understand
The bitterness to come, the inner strife?

We lift the docks at Tilbury on that dank November day
We waved to the people huddled on the quay
But these were only strangers looking up to see us go
As we were cast adrift to make our way.

The innocents...

To make out way as children with no roots or mother love
To settle in a country harsh and bold
To leave the past behind up, to forget our place of birth
And keep the rules and never break the mould

The innocents...

And from now on I'm going to write entries at school in the middle of my English book at random times. Why? Well it seems that I try to put a mental note in my mind to what I want to write in my diary entries but I always forget. So now and then when an English page is filled up I'll post it. With the date of course.

back | forth