CD Day 29

20:41, Sunday, Dec. 22, 2013

1000
Wake up feeling better.

1100
Head out to lunch with the whole family: Suk suk and son; daguma and husband and son's daughter and grandchild; 2guma and husband and son; 3guma and husband and daughter and daughter's fiance; dadaguma. It is the most awkward shit ever. I say nothing. I understand half of what is going on. I feel pressured by being compared with Louise, who is much more friendlier than I.

Tongtong is fatter and uglier everytime I see him.
Cynthia is pretty and friendly as usual.
Botlohchun looks better than I thought he would (illness wise and aesthetically wise).

1400
It's finally over. I hate this so much. This is going to be the longest week of my life. I try to be as outgoing as I can possibly be in a language I don't know how to use, but it's clearly not working. Bleh.

1500
I pack. I get 2100rmb in redpocket money. It's basically enough to cover my entire trip's expenses (in addition to parent's allowance and Grace's red pocket), with extra left over. I'm grateful, but I don't know how to 'tum yun' at all.

1630
Make it to 3sukpo's place where popo is staying. Popo has been contacting me since I was in Beijing asking me about updates and whatnot to the point that is was annoying. Well at least she means well.

Honestly when I get here, it's a lot better. I think it's a thing, where my mother's side is easier to get along with. I don't know why. I think because they are funnier people, who just treat you like their child immediately. They just scold me and tell me off and do annoying parental things to me and it makes me feel more comfortable that way lol.

So I chat a lot more with them, even though my Cantonese is like a kid talking. They are super nice and I feel much better. Today is actually Winter festival so we eat a lot of meat and tangyuan as well. I am stuffed. I'll have to watch out, because 3sukpo likes to stuff you a lot.

Chat with popo and it's good. She knows a lot of crap and she's eager to share. I'm glad I'm staying here and not with Suksuk. Sorry dad.

2100
Finish showering in the shittiest shower in a long time. It's better than before at least. I'm actually living in my favourite house in China ever. It's definitely not the most comfortable, but I love the feel and the atmosphere and the trees outside and the air. It's nice.

Going to watch a movie and then sleep.
Thank god a downloaded a shittonne of movies at Beijing. I should have downloaded more, now that I know we had unlimited wifi.

back | forth