New beginnings

20:18, Wednesday, Mar. 06, 2013

Hi.

Uni has started and its all very new and different so it's a little exciting and at the same time depressing, but I suppose not nearly as depressing as architecture. There are also all sorts of people in my classes, not just really smart hard-working people so I feel a little more at ease, and more determined to do well. It really feels like I'm starting anew.

Sometimes the classes are boring, although actually it feels like I've returned to high school, so it's a little bit nostalgic as well.

I've made one friend, and I get to talk with Maddy and Silvia a lot more. Silvia especially, I feel like we got along quite well now compared to high school because she's opened up to me for some reason (I guess she's lonely haha) and I just find her very similar to a past version of myself and also like a kouhai in life, so I have the most utmost patience and amusement when dealing with her. Actually this is how I deal will most things that used to annoy me now, so I feel happier to have become a degree nicer.

Textbooks are bloody expensive and not worth it and I have too many breaks in between my classes. I've been following my clothes-dressing-enlightenment and wearing what I feel but somehow, my tastes have become even more asian. It's not a bad thing, but I think I give off a more international student feel than last year. Plus one guy hit on me in mandarin on the way to Redfern. Lol.

Work
For some reason, though work was hell for me during the past month, due to my constant being there, I almost miss it now. I'm probably only working short night shifts now.

One thing: the day after Valentines, a regular Friday lunch customer gave me a box of chocolates and left his number after I didn't give him mine. The next week, he asked for my facebook, which I reluctantly gave, and when he added me and sent me a message, I ignored him and didn't read it.

The following week, he didn't show up, and now I no longer work Friday lunchtimes because I have school. He was a European guy, late 20s, definitely not my type. My boss told me not to break his heart or turn him down too harshly from a business perspective, but I swear I was going to go nuts from the uncomfortable tension created by friction between my real inexperienced hermit self and my bubbly friendly work self.

At work, I would say I'm almost a manager there sometimes? Just working there full time for a month and you can catch on quite quickly. It's not a bad feeling though, despite the responsibility, which is probably how I managed to decide on changing to comm. It's already been a year, and I'm quite close with Boom now (she's even giving me life lessons haha) and I think I might stay there for a long time; I'm not too sure. I'm not really an advocate of change for the sake of change.

Life (both)
I saved quite a lot though, so I think I can pay off my textbooks fine right now. Although I didn't sign up for photography this year, because of the costs, and because of my time schedules and stuff. I think I'll try next year, after I've settled into comms... and after I've taken pictures first.

I am still too overly concerned with my appearance and achieving my ideal look. Somehow, despite my many ideals, I am nowhere near any. I realised the reason why I like to follow asian girl groups compared to asian guy groups (like Silvia, Cindy) is because they are objects to be admired aesthetically.

It's Ximia's birthday soon! And I absolutely HAVE to make that thing I've been planning since last year after HSC. Absolutely. To realise an idea into a solid form is difficult to do, but all you have to do is start, and starting only requires 70% determination.

I feel like I need a new an art diary journal now to describe my thoughts, which is somehow wonderful, and somehow rubbish. Maybe I'll figure it out next year. This year, I'm going to try to settle and prepare for a new beginning.

back | forth