In the family

14:52, Saturday, Sept. 01, 2012

My dad, following in his good friend's footsteps, is taking a TAFE degree, but in drafting. As in architectural drafting.

Honestly, I do not like the idea. As student studying it myself in the worse possible place I could be studying it, I honestly do not think he will like it. Or do well. Same thing, these days.

I've come to understand what type of people succeed in this industry, and my father is not one of them. Maybe he is, deep inside, but for the past maybe ten years that I have been with him, he has done nothing but stay in front of the computer all day. Much like me actually.

Anyway I don't mean to be derogatory towards my dad (I think it's a little related to how I don't really see my own future in this) and it's good he's found something he wants to do, but seriously. What. The hell. Brought this up.

I think because my mother is also studying a course online, and being more studious that I am about it, but that's because her personality is meticulous and OCD. I am just afraid for my father's self esteem and self value. I'd rather he believe he fails because he never had a chance, than actually failing.

back | forth