End of break

2:39 PM, Sunday, Jan. 30, 2011

Dear January, and summer holidays, and my last relaxing long stress-free break,

I'm starting school tomorrow, and I haven't finished my homework. I'm behind in everything aside from modern. I should be freaking out, which I was this morning, but now I can't give a damn. I'll just have a hellish week these next couple of days and catch up by next week. Or so I say.

Coincidentally, we found the movie Amelie at Grace's (she has the maddest DVD collection) and I just want to say it is the most funniest, strangest, cutest, probably the most original movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I love it because it's all about little details. Little details which say so much. And a weird protagonist who is actually weird. And pretty music.

I think this summer was peaceful.
Last summer, I discovered a whole lot of shit, and I felt like I found what I was missing.
Throughout last year, I went up and down and spiraled sideways. My music changed, my clothes kinda changed (...), the people around me changed, things just changed. I suppose we grew up.
This summer, was like me straightening things out, getting away from people, enjoying the last days of my youth (...?), doing everything I wanted to do before it was too late, talking to the mirror, clearing up on what I wanted, etc.

I mean you can call it finding yourself, or discovering your identity or shit like that. But as cheesy as it sounds, I feel like I've become more confident in myself. On my psychological scales, [what other people say] probably no longer outweighs [what I want to do], like it always has. Although, I haven't matured enough that [what I want to do] is [what I should be doing], and I probably still can't handle a lot of things very well but whatever, I'm a late bloomer.

Oh and I just want to add something interesting. A while ago last year I bumped into Lynn who said to me most randomly, probably continuing a conversation she had with someone by herself, she said:

"Yeah, Eve hasn't changed at all since year 7."
And I just thought that was the most hilarious thing I've heard in ages, and I think of that all the time because it makes me smile. It's just one of those lines which a passing person says, and probably won't remember, but you'll remember it for as long as you can :)

back | forth