Merry Christmas

1:24 PM, Saturday, Dec. 25, 2010

So I slept 12 hours last night/morning and woke up at one. For Christmas, it doesn't seem like we're doing anything. I swear, as the years have gone by, each Christmas is lonelier for my family. Everyone seems to forget us.

I've finally gotten round to cleaning my room. So basically, clearing out all my year7-10 stuff and throwing away all that schoolwork which I once thought I wanted to keep for memories. But 5 years later, and you realize that it's just junk you never want to see again.

So for the first time in 4 or 5 years, I cleaned my room, hence it took a couple of days. You should have seen it two days ago: papers and dust everywhere--I even slept over in my bro's room for the time being. Well anyway I'm glad I did it, because I said I would redecorate my room this summer, which I sort of have. I woke up this morning, and I go, wow is this really my room?

I found a tonne of stationery and gifts from years ago which I've stashed away for myself. I love boxes and containers, which hold things neatly inside (e.g. empty mooncake boxes and lolly tins) and I've finally got a use for all those display folders I bought years ago.

It feels nice and clean and uplifting, and the cleaning process felt like I was taking a glimpse of an old dusty book which contains my childhood self.

There's something about these holidays. I know it's going to incredibly lonely compared to last summer, and that's a bit saddening, because I feel like I only really have two or three friends. But I feel like this chosen isolation (oh, Emily Dickinson ==") is a chance for me to renew my surroundings and do all those things I've always wanted to do.

back | forth