Summer days are coming

8:08 PM, Saturday, Nov. 20, 2010

Dad is coming back after two weeks of China tomorrow night. His absence has made me realize how lazy and un-bothered my mother is, and just how much she relies on him. I suppose he does leave a gap in the house where he usually is.

I've been watering the backyard lately because he's not here, and i just want to say how awesome my backyard is. It's beautiful, like another world. I'm exaggerating a tad bit, but it really is wonderful lately.

You know in the afternoon when it's almost summer and the sun has to set but it's almost as if it wants to stay longer? And you too feel like staying outside to just watch the ray of sun as it disappears for the day, and it feels a bit sad, but you can't wait for tomorrow. And when the summer weeds (the dandelions and clovers) are growing long and wild, and the crops grow so well and thick in the warm weather. Like that.

Our old broken washing machine stands outside next to the drive way and it collects water from the rain, and we use the tube at the back to fill old paint buckets with water, which we use to drown our crops.

Today I accidentally poured some water in a bucket a lizard was in. I thought I'd drowned it but it was still crawling (or swimming?) in the water so I decided to pour it into the plants--save water and save the lizard. But I dislike things that crawl. So as soon as I emptied the bucket I bolted to the other side of the backyard.

I amuse myself.

I think it's the warm weather. My backyard feels like I'm in the countryside (Asian countryside). I'm annoyed at the mosquitoes but somehow I found them funny, even though I've been bitten like ten times this week at school and at home. Even the rabbits look cuter to me nowadays.

And I started taking pictures again, because I feel this need to capture this beautiful moment on film, and I'm glad because I haven't picked up the camera in a while. I feel like taking pictures of my backyard, my washing machine, the grass, myself in it, the driveway, the shadows, the sun on the concrete, the fallen leaves, the rabbits.

Ah summer, my secret crush<3

back | forth