Why I Love the Camera So

4:06 PM, Saturday, Aug. 07, 2010

I was thinking about it, this is one of those things that I have loved for a long time, and I wonder what makes me so... happy about it. Especially film, photographs, pictures in general.

The photo on this page, which Tiffany scanned for me, is slightly dusty, but that's because her scanner was dusty, but I guess it's a nice effect. It's nice. I love the film is so manual, and how it works with light and how I can just capture a moment in time. It's actual light that gets collected onto a piece of film and it prints out and becomes something you can keep, not lost in the digital world.

It's like a frozen piece of the world that I can hold in my hands, like a memory, or a feeling. Writing is so inconsistant with me, and it never really conveys what I'm really thinking/feeling. Maybe that's jsut because I suck at writing. Either way, I think a photo is so much more effective and there are so many things you can tell just from one click of the shutter.

Do all photographer's feel this way?

And maybe it's because, they're my photos that I took, hence my memories, but I look at those ordinary shots and I feel so much love.

Haha :)

back | forth