Must be dreaming

6:11 PM, Tuesday, Jul. 27, 2010

Fuck English. Fuck school.

From now on, I'm going to live off pepsi and daisies. I'm going to meet a boy to have tobacco kisses with and blow smoke into each other's faces. I'm going to run off into the wild with only my guitar, my camera, a roll of film and origami paper. I'm going to walk this earth bare feet, just like I was born to do. I'm going to grow my hair to my feet, leave strands of locks in the tree branches, the trees that grow apples and toffee and coffee and teaspoons.

I'm going to wear an endless closet filled with my brother's old jumpers, coloured overalls, bubble skirts, nose-diving back-lines, feather tutus, soaring hemlines, thigh high boots, sandal clogs, my dad's shirts, my mother's blazers, my neighbour's hats, my school socks, peter pan collars, buttoned up shirts, neckties and bowties and cufflinks and gold and silver. I'm going to swim in oversized satin bows or in the nude as I somersault into a waterfall of white wine.

And the water is going to be cold but the sun will be warm but the wind will be cool but my body will be hot, because my soul's on fire and my heart has stopped beating because time has stopped ticking and we're just frozen in eternity. I'm going to get a tattoo on my shoulder blade because it's going to be there forever, and it is red and blue and black like blood, and drawn in the shape of a blooming hummingbird or a swallow or a kookaburra with wings spread wide, because that's what I am, free like a bird.

back | forth