Film Film Film !

11:56 AM, Saturday, Jul. 24, 2010

So I finally got my first roll of film developed today at Big W! :) It was bit under $7 and I had to wait 1 to 2 hours. I was sort of excited at getting them developed, but also scared of if they were just normal average shitty photos, and that all that fussing over film was merely a waste because I just don't have the talent, or the tools, or the luck. I mean you do waste a lot of money to keep the hobby up... unless you have your own scanner but that's like $100+

But anyway, in the end I'm actually quite pleased by them. Maybe my expectations were too low, but I can see it... the depth, the grain, the overexposure. I actually love them to bits, even though most of them were pretty crappy and plain and normal. But somehow I'm still so, so, so happy. Maybe because I've finally confirmed that manual light-exposing film can actually develop into shots like digital ones. I think that's what I wanted to know the most. And you know I think there are just some things that you can't get with digital that I capture on film.

I'm so happy<3

There were only 24 shots, not 36 (that's why the damn camera kept stuffing up near the end...) My favourite one is the last one, SO damn lucky it made it on the film and wasn't one of the lost shots that will never be made again. It is like the prettiest and best thing I have ever seen. I will get someone to scan it for me and I'll post here and change my header. Yes it is that awesome.

Ok so maybe you can just as easily get that with digital without all that hassle and waiting and uncertainty on how the photo will turn out, but you know it's that period of time that makes it worth it. Not knowing how it'll turn up, everything depending on the sun, the shadows, the light, the camera settings, the subject. Perfection. When it all comes together, it's perfection. And I guess I am like seriously addicted to it now, because it's wanting to achieve that perfection that keeps you going. And the care you have to take to make sure everything is just right, because you only get one shot, it makes it so nerve-wracking yet exciting. Adrenaline.

In love, forrealz.
:)

back | forth