Timeless

3:46 PM, Sunday, Jul. 18, 2010

Next door
there's an old man
who lived to his nineties,
and one day
passed away
in his sleep.

And his wife,
she stayed for
a couple of days
and passed away...

Our elderly neighbour, Rex, has passed away only minutes ago.
I am deeply saddened by the news. Ambulance cars came, and our other neighbours can be seen walking about outside, feathers ruffled. I can't believe it, that he's just gone. And it reminds me of the song. Although Rex was only 82 or 84, and Monica, god I don't even know what's happening with her. They have both been wonderful neighbours, kind people, their faces and smiles etched into my memory from that first day eight years ago. I aspired to be like them, they always seemed so content and... together.

I know it; each one of us is thinking about our own deaths, or our parents' deaths, or someone's death. This is actually the first time I've experienced death, and it's all new but it is so, so sad. It's simple, it's quiet, it's almost soundless, yet the emotions are everywhere and even though it's a day like any other, between us all, we can feel it. Death.

Yes perhaps I have underestimated it, I have been taking it too lightly. But we're young, and we don't know of such things of finality and ultimate. I think I will always remember Rex and Monica, the elderly couple next door, always gardening, unspoken gestures, actions of kindness, wonderful beautiful people. I think that is enough for me, as long as our little cul-de-sac can hold him in our memories, in our hearts I guess, he still lives on. I guess I sort of understand how and when and what people say about dealing with death.

Inevitable. But we are so strong to be able to carry on, live on. Yes we are very strong.

He had cancer, Rex, already in his last stage I think. And I think he acted pretty Rex-like to be bedridden at home instead of in a hospital. At least he had his wife by his side. I remember when he had a chat with dad only a couple of weeks ago, as if he knew his death was not too far off.

I think he was lucky. We are lucky.

back | forth