Travelbug home again

21:48, Thursday, Mar. 02, 2017

Just came back from SEA + Adelaide trip. Back at home still doesn't feel like I'm back here yet, feel like I need to be going somewhere else soon. I think because we were constantly moving overseas and in Adelaide.

Places I would go back to:
- Bangkok/Thailand
- Siem Reap/Cambodia
- Hong Kong (obviously)
- Adelaide - maybe after a while

Cool discoveries:
- Lamma Island
- Hong Kong is great no matter how many times I go. It's a combination of old and new culture, of western modernisation and traditional Cantonese lifestyle, and they are constantly changing and moving and I love it. Bonus: it's a photogenic place.
- Henley Beach in Adelaide is so beautiful and really hits my aesthetic bone
- Cycling in Hoi An was the cutest - I'm glad I got to do it.
- Bangkok was like a mix of Hong Kong and Japan with Thai, if I had to draw a comparison from my past experiences. It grows on you.
- Angkor Wat was truly amazing

Uncool discoveries:
- Where is the good food in these places - so hard to find.
- Vietnam in general
- Travelling with my brother
- My brother in general
- Constantly looking after my bowel movements and what I'm digesting

Adelaide was surprisingly nice. The city, the travelling, the drive, the crew. Allowed to drive 3 minutes and that was it. Three people I would probably not travel with over an extended period of time, especially if it was a place I was really looking forward to going, but not too bad. And it's nice to hang out with these people I usually only see for a few hours a night at dinner.

My brother is a dick. And if I could, I would cut off all contact. He is an ungrateful leech and I didn't see to what extent until the trip but it feels like he has no conscious and he won't ever change - for the first time in probably forever, even though I know what he's thinking, I have no idea why he's doing what he's doing or acting that way. But it's to the point where I can't just let it go. He might as well be a ghost in my house.

Have the travelbug. It gets stronger and stronger with every trip. To be honest, I've done a lot of travelling over the past 12 months and I've loved it all. I was planning on getting cheap flights to Japan for today and taking a week just going about Tokyo by myself, but the cheap flights never came and it just never happened. Which technically is a good thing because I save a lot of money but at the same time I wish I had just gone ahead and booked it because what the hell.

back | forth