Last week of uni

15:10, Friday, Oct. 28, 2016

Hey. So it's been almost 2 months. Lol.

Last week of uni - it was incredibly anticlimactic.

EOY trip - finally finalised: doing a 3 week trip around South East Asia with family (Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Hong Kong) in February and doing a 11 day New Zealand trip with friends in early January.

I feel so much satisfaction from finally solidifying these plans that I've wanted to have for this entire year, but now I'm just stressed from all the planning I have to do. But it's a good stress. Made a bad stress because I use trip planning as a procrastination method.

Pretty much almost every assignment I handed in this semester has been handed in late. And I literally cannot give any fucks.

New Zealand - going with a lot of my favourite people, altogether, hopefully I do not regret this. It's strange because I feel like a lot of them know of each but have never met. And now they'll be together in an intimate (ish?) setting for an extended period of time.

Z has been a bitch to accommodate/compromise/plan with but I realise its because I'm super OCD and trust no one to be as thorough as I am.

Wallet - only 1 job this semester so things are kind of slow, but I guess I'm enjoying it while I can. Have been eating out a lot, meeting with people and these days I generally splurge whenever I look at a menu. It's pretty bad. I really should be saving for my trips but whatever.

New discovery of the month - so I signed up for this temporary volunteering thing as sort of like a, last chance to contribute to the community; do it while I can; need to experience this shit at least once; and so I've done like two shifts. I hate it a lot. Mostly because it's only involved handing out flyers to businesses so far. The people there were as expected, and all I had were regrets.

It's basically this annual Japanese film festival in my city and I thought I could, you know, somehow get back into touch with my Japanese culture phase one last time because Uniqlo culture was kind of too Supreme/ET/fuckboi for me.

So Tuesday I get grouped with two people who looked like your typical awkward Japanese cultured people and I was like fuck my life can this get any worse; curse my good work ethic that forces me to go to things I've already agreed to do.

But we ended up going over Japan (duh), good manga, cultural barriers, world politics, etc. Shit which I actually never get to talk to normally with my friends, only because our interests on the topic don't overlap. Surprisingly they were more insightful, less obnoxious, more capable than they appeared to be.

Which, actually, shouldn't be too surprising, because I mean, look at me, I'm exactly the same. Really I should never judge so much from appearances, and I thought I had already become a lot better at it, but it seems I still have a long way to go.

So all in all, it might turn out to be a better experience than I thought it would be. Still have yet to learn to be succinct in my words though - sorry.

back | forth