CD Day 18

23:58, Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013

0650
Get up early to download movie torrents.

0800
I am the only one in class on time.

1130
Jordon flirts with me and I pretend I don't realise.

1230
Finally eat egg tarts on campus. They are pretty nice.

1330
Go to Silk Road. It's pretty new-looking. Starting prices are extremely high, you can probably divide it by 5-10. Some cute korean-style clothing and interesting shows but prices are meh because it is an extremely popular tourist destination. It feels like Sydney, with that many foreigners all in one place. It's mostly fake brand stuff.

I get a communist tshirt along with S and C; 6 pairs of socks; a batman shirt for me and a batman shirt for my brother. Although it turns out, the batman shirts were a size small--good thing I got an S for me, although I don't know if my brother will fit an M. I'm pretty annoyed, but at least they were cheap after an hour of bargaining; and batman shirt was on my wishlist.

C, S and K buy a lot of stuff too. We leave, and I feel a little unsatisfied, because it isn't dirt cheap like Dongwuyuan and I need shoes goddamnit!

1730
We decide to catch a taxi instead of subway to Kro's Nest (a really cool pizza place that S has been too), but the traffic is so bad, we move about 100m before we just get off and walk to the place instead.

1820
We end up at a plaza place which I swear I've been to before: there is a big screen on the ceiling outside. I rush into H&M, which I haven't been into since my brother gave me his list. I find a men's cable knit on sale: it is 200rmb/40aud. It isn't cream but white. In a rush, I buy it.

For about an hour afterwards, I regret it so bad. It's way too expensive; it's not even the right colour; I could have gotten it later; I might have found a cheaper, more accurate one elsewhere; why did I rush!! Argh. But as a look at it now, it's pretty alright. Very expensive, but it was half price and it's H&M.

1915
After a bit of walking and calling people, we are finally there. The place has a modern contemporary design: graffiti style, dimly lit, decent-looking waiters, good service. The pizza's are bloody massive: the taste is ok.

We chat for a bit and it feels nice. They are practically the same as my group, although I think they are a tad, tad more interesting. Plus we are kind of into similar stuff, and we all like playing word games (I thought I was the only one).

2100
We leave; I plan to return for shopping another day. If I can complete my brother's list within a good budget, I will be eternally happy.

2145
On the train, a semi-drunk guy hears us speaking english, and asks us if we are Chinese. S says yes, and he says: wow, that's awesome--Chinese people who can speak English. That is awesome, that's how it should be. I work in an American company about glasses so here's my card, if you need anything, just call me. Cool fanks. Lol.

2200
I get them on to the topic of weddings, and it's cool, it's like having my own survey audience. I get home, text my language buddy and study.

Tomorrow I go shopping.

back | forth