Light

03:16, Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2012

There are two things that happened/Are happening that I really want to mention. But firstly, an update on life.

I'm up right now at 3:17am in bed after just finishing a small assignment for arch. This sub is quite ok in content though it is quite difficult to understand at times. I spent quite a while perfecting it and though I chide myself over my bad time management again, I'm quite satisfied with how much effort I put in. In comparison with last sem.

All my subs seem quite ok this sem except studio, because then i do painting (so incredibly fun and a first time too) and photography, which is seriously the most enjoyable class I have ever taken since primary. The tutor dresses as if he never left the 70s, with a baggy linty old jumper, light blue bell bottoms and a bushy comb of a moustache. Seeing so many SLR cameras overwhelm me. I'm Pretty much alone in this class but I love it, the camera, the lens, the film, the dark room.

So last week I dropped my camera. When I got home and took a look at it on Saturday my heart literally broke. I cried for an hour in the bathroom and then had to go to work with swollen eyes. I don't think I've ever cried so hard in my life. And the last time I'd actually cried was 7 months ago on my birthday.

Anyway, I couldn't bear to take a picture, but there was a massive spider for a crack on the front of the lens. I swore the lens itself was broken too. I freaked out the rest of the night whenever I was free and on Sunday I searched up a list of repair places to go to on Monday.

And so on Monday I went to wynyard and lostily went down my list. Paxton's said no, but recommended me to Aero, who was really nice and explained how to fix it to me. He said only the filter at the front was cracked so he would take it off for $30 though he needed an hour and I'd have to buy my own new one. I said I'd come back.

Five Star was damn hard to find and wasn't even open (it opened at 12pm geez), and then I found out Ted's sold the right filter for $25 but they were sold out until the end of the week. Then I found a nameless camera repair shop that had a good but ugly noob website and when I stepped inside, I knew this place was legit.

There were SLR cameras on display and offices behind the counter. A muddle aged man welcomes me and takes the camera and says the same thing about the filter. Only he takes it to the back and takes the shit off and glues together the part which is coming off all in ten minutes. Then he sold me the right filter and all for $40. Nicest guy ever, I would trust that guy with all cameras I'd ever hope to own.

Anyway I was bounding utterly thrilled by then and almost crying again, just looking at the camera all perfect again. Seriously has got to be one of the happiest moments of my life.

Anyway, since then (two days ago), I've been looking at life in a good light this week. Let's hope for the best.

The other story is about drama at work which is much longer and complicated and unfinished. So I'm going to sleep now and wait til the story ends. Life drama like this feels shit but thrilling at the same time. It's because I get to feel different things and experience new things. Anyway.

Also, I'm reading Jane Eyre.

back | forth