Dinnertime

17:39, Tuesday, Jul. 10, 2012

This year I've come to value dinnertime very much.

Since working where I work, I've experienced extremely irregular eating times and incomplete and inadequate meals. And I've realised just how much worth eating together with the family at the dinner table is.

There is only one time of the day where all members of the family can see each other and sit down and spend time together and that is during dinnertime. There doesn't have to be talking beyond useless commenting, and it usually doesn't last more than 15 minutes, but I think just sitting together brings us closer, so that we're not just people who live in the same house.

Some days, I'll wake up to an empty house and come back to a quiet one in slumber. So dinnertime is probably the only time we're all settled down and facing each other like civilised human beings.

back | forth