People I've Met

20:53, Thursday, Mar. 29, 2012

At uni:
Jessie is the 30 year old Chinese international student who can speak good English, Mandarin, Canto and a local Chinese dialect. She lives with her boyfriend and she works at IKEA 6 days a fortnight, but probably more hours than I do. She previously did accounting at Macq. She is incredibly creative and neat (because she's from China) and I'm so glad that I've gotten close with her. Like other older Chinese international students, she gets along with everyone and treats everyone normally, but she's young enough to not be annoying like the old ones, yet old enough to not be as judgmental and annoying as the young ones.

Isabel is this soon to be 21 year old who had previously done two years of Arts at UNSW and she is pretty chill and relaxed and an Eastie. She's a halfie, but practically a white, but incredibly down to earth and normal. She was technically the first person I talked to in my tute so we're like alright. She has good music taste too (kind of like Australian, indie, triple J, plus other stuff I listen to/used to listen to) so that's pretty exciting for me. She has a boyfriend, and I feel comfortable around her because neither of us are overwhelmingly creative/into the work lol.

Ruby is from Hornsby Girls and she does double with engineering and she sounds like Caroline, talks like Caroline, has similar body as Caroline, knows a lot of people like Caroline, dresses a little like Caroline and Pim but she's not quite as 'cool' as Caroline. But she's nice. And we get along as similar asians (you know, know about kpop, asian parents, asian friends, asian school, etc.) But of course she's tonnes more social lol.

Elsie is from this international school in China but she's the perfect whitewashed asian chick from the Shire seriously lol jk. And she listens to 80's rock e.g. ACDC how cool is that. And she's super creative and good at this shit.

Tony is a girl, 24, looks younger, white, lives on same line, travels around the world A LOT which is so cool, but she's pretty white so sometimes I don't feel like being alone with her if I can help it. But yeah she's a lot nicer than you'd expect.

Dave has previously done a law degree and a music degree and been in a band that makes music similar to Deathcab. I don't talk to him a lot, unless it's necessary and about work. But he is the funniest guy ever. He doesn't crack jokes or anything, but the way he says things is hilarious. And he knows what he's talking about when he's talking about architecture, which is a lot more than a lot of people. And he's super good at this shit too. Yeah if I could, I'd like to know more about him.

Cecile has added me on facebook and I absolutely hate her. From the first moment I heard her talk, I was like oh, that's an excited uni kid for sure. Asian but acts white, dresses white, has white friends, but can't quite match up to them in terms of ability. Does the double with engineering. She's the type of person who laughs incredibly exaggeratedly loudly (in a way that seems) as if she's showing off that she's having more fun than you. It's like she hasn't grown out of high school. Seriously I hate kids like these. I'm together with her for a group assignment in the Friday tute, and she barely acknowledges me even though we're in two of the same groups. Probably why I don't like her that much.

Sophie isn't worth mentioning except that she's Cecile's chosen one in our first tute, and she went to Hurlstone so she isn't as annoying, and she at least is good at this course, doing the double, short, nice clothes, maybe I can get along with her if I talked to her more but she seems like she's not interested in talking to me so she's not being very likable either. I'm with her for the Fri tute as well though.

There's also a Ruse kid, a Blakehurst kid, a couple of international students, a fucking annoying 38 year old guy who looks 20s but acts 13 and others who sit on the other table. Most of the high school graduates are doing the double degree though. Then other people I can't be bothered mentioning.

In my Thurs tute, I sit with Jessie and Victoria. She's this white girl who is also a high school graduate and she dresses nicely and she's not pretentious so we get along fine. She won a $1000 General Pants Co. voucher last year and I was like fuck so damn lucky.

Miguel is this international student from Spain who I have never talked to at all but he's in two of my groups and he is like really hot and when he talks he is like a billion times hotter with the accent. I'mma take a photo with him one day seriously.

At work:
Top is this 25 year old guy with a tattoo down one arm, earring, not ugly, more of a player aura and definitely gangster looking, especially when he's wearing nicer clothes. He's pale because he's half Chinese, he listens to a lot of kpop, especially likes Sunny from SNSD, has been here for 6 years, was previously on a student visa but hated college, and his english is alright; conversations are ok though limited. He is definitely a massive flirt, always touching/teasing people, making suggestive smirks, brushing my lips, tickling Cindy, etc. He said something about having lots of previous girlfriends, but none of them were what he was looking for. He's looking for a girl who will cook and clean and welcome him home after a long day of work, but the girls were all too tired and lazy after their day of work. One girl did clean for him, but she 'wasn't pretty.' What a guy right?

He's the type that likes kids, pretty girls, is incredibly devoted and conscientious towards his work, surprisingly responsible, and very goofy, down to earth, jokester kind of guy. Yeah and that's what makes him a pretty ideal asian guy seriously. At the restaurant I think he's been there since the beginning, and he cooks, makes entrees, waiters, takes orders, he basically does everything except phone calls because of his english. Yeah this is his life story ok.

Yesterday he told me he was going to the city today but he didn't want to go alone. He asked me to come with him to eat good ramen at a Japanese restaurant he then later drew out for me LOL and I was like what, I have school until 3, and he was like afterwards, come, come, come. Of course I said no, because it's me, but it was the cutest and nicest thing just to be asked haha.

Joon is another 25 year old guy who started the day after I did, but he works 6 days a week, full shifts so... He lives in the city near the three monkeys apparently, with someone he doesn't want to say who. He's shorter than me LOL, he's a leftie, earring, pale, pretty muscley and cutest puppy dog eyes. He get's a long well with Top, and he likes Hyuna and Ga In, which says something about him lol. He's been here 2 years so his english is fucking horrible, and it's a little awkward on Mondays, but we've gotten a little more used to each other. I used to be tonnes awkward around him because I think he liked my face at the beginning, and when I told Top I didn't have a boyfriend, he answered: 'Really? Joon happy.' But anyway it's ok now, since he realises I'm pretty much like a kid. He gives off a cool look at the beginning but he's actually super lame, like as lame as could be in his limited english, in a cute way.

He's a cook and he's a little ambitious I reckon, but only in comparison with Top, and that's probably because he hasn't been in Aus long. He and Top have asked for my number before, but he was especially insistent once lol. I kind of don't mean to brag as much as to tell someone/something that something like that actually happened to me, from the opposite sex. So yeah I guess I am bragging, if this could be called bragging?

Boom is the boss and she has a small but hot bod, big eyes, tanned, super cute, and apparently 30ish?? She is pretty strict when about her restaurant and work, since she has to be, but that's what makes her so good. Otherwise she's super nice and pretty gangster yeah lol. Her english is the best out of them all, and when she's not serious, she can act pretty childishly which I think is adorable. She's intimidating at times and has threatened to fire me so many times, but at other times it's reassuring to have her around. She's a good catch, she is.

Man, with one 'a' is Boom's husband, and he's tall, very tanned, apparently younger than Boom, kind of expressionless face, and pretty gangster yeah. He is the main cook and occasional delivery guy. His english is between Top and Joon's, and he's nice, although he looks scary, and quite dorky. I can imagine him as a pretty scary but funny dad. Top live with Boom and Man in the same unit in Bankstown.

Tick is chubby, pimply, looks older but is actually 29, but she is super super nice. Like incredibly. Her english is a little less than Man's level, and she's entree maker and kitchen hand. I feel like she doesn't like me a lot, but you know I can't blame her. I can't respond to a lot of them because most of my responses require english knowledge because otherwise my expression is blank, and that's probably why I'm so quiet. But it's good that they still talk to me, and don't ignore me like the normal people I meet do lol.

Cindy is 15 going on 16, year 10 at the local school, taller than me, Chinese but doesn't speak any Chinese at all, so, so very nice and kind and with a very cute/dorky personality that makes everyone love her. Apparently her older sister Stephanie worked there for 8 months before her as a kitchen hand but she was super quiet and slow (almost like me, but worse), and I met her eldest sister Lily when I bumped into Tina during O-week (the most amazing coincidence). Cindy is in the same position as me, but she's way more faster and more confident and stable in the way she does things so I'm always asking her shit. I talk with Cindy the most, pretty obvious why, and I feel like the age gap doesn't even mattter. Actually since going to work and uni, age doesn't feel like shit anymore. I'm pretty sure I don't hate the students at high school as much anymore, although I still don't want to go back.

Then there's Greg, who is white and middle-aged, who drives (and does dishes when not driving since this is the position), and he likes talking to me and Cindy and Top because otherwise he doesn't get to talk much in a Thai restaurant lol.

Ian is the other white driver, who I actually like more, although he's super quiet and doesn't talk much, and when he does it's like wtf scary much. But then I realised he's just awkward like that, and he's actually nice and dorky. He's smarter than he looks, and short and fat lol.

I'm getting an iphone!!!! Yay!! It's not like I wanted one before, but the idea has sort of struck and stuck to me for these past few weeks, and I've been asking everyone with an iphone how their plan is. I'm also obsessed with eating seaweed as a snack, craving sushi/Japanese food, craving going to the city (my third home, after Ticky's place as second), getting incredibly bored of manga and lookbook now, on Twitter quite a lot, procrastinating all my work so bad, definitely not up to par with all the other kids, finally dressing more nicer because I had previously felt a need to dress plainly and badly when uni started so that I would be able to differentiate good person from pretentious, talked to Mel and Matt today, desire to see group (for the first time in ages) but no desire to see how awesome their uni life has been which I can imagine they will boast.

Otherwise, same old, same old, shit's still cool.

back | forth