Meaning

11:04 PM, Saturday, Mar. 05, 2011

I love my friends, the people I treasure, I really do. When in the face of disapproving gossip I'll defend their backs, when feeling like shit I will try to comfort them however I can even if I don't really help. But what is friendship really like, really?

It gives me love, gives me hope, inspires me, brings me joy, brings me to tears, gives me someone to turn to, gives me support, gives me fun, gives me happiness, gives me pain and conflict, gives me something to look forward to the next day. I think the main thing I've been thinking about lately though is what they think about you. I mean I don't hover over everything they say about me, but because they are your friends, you'll take some of what they say to think about. E.g. when a friend tells me something about my appearance, I will take note of it. If it's something that I like and chose for myself, I'll completely disregard it, but if it's just a one-off or something, their honesty is really advice. Does that make sense? So if a friend tells me I'm not as skinny as I used to be, even though that sort of cuts me down a bit, it just means its time for me to start exercising. So it's not just advice, or critiquing comments, but more like motivating words, because they are your friends and their words mean something. They don't mean so much that they rule over your life and control you, but they do mean something. It's like the same thing when they compliment you so it should work the other way.

Bottom line? If they are your real friends, people you treasure, people you trust, people who mean something to you, then their words will always mean something to you and you will either outright dismiss it or take it and use it.

I think that's what I'm trying to say.

back | forth