CD Day III

23:14, Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

0645: wake up, meet with Karmen, go to cafeteria for breakfast. I order for the first time myself and we overorder. The food is new and strange, but it was so freaking cheap.

0800: class starts; I am struggling to stay awake.

1000: speaking teacher comes in, and its indefinitely better. My shitty speaking comes through.

1200: I eat lunch with Karmen at the same cafeteria as yesterday. She orders take away for us and we go back to the dorm. She plays some HK movie while we eat. It's pretty boring, I'd rather be out boring myself with eating with new people.

1400: I pay accommodation, we buy water, we split up to our dorms. I do some stuff on the computer. Karmen stays at home and watches dramas.

1700: we all meet up to go to the pre-planned acrobatic show. The bus ride is 1.5 hours long due to the traffic on the way. Karmen tells me about her life, and I discover she is definitely a novelty--someone to admire.

1845: half an hour until the show starts, we go to find food nearby. We go along with Daniel Ge, Alex, some other people from our beijing class. After 10 minutes of random walking, we find a dumpling place and order and wait. We get the stuff and literally run back to the place, barely making it in time.

1915: show is on. It is pretty good, some really nice pretty tricks. A few mistakes gives away its amateurness, but it's still cool. Especially the motorbikes.

1930: me and Karmen eat the dumplings, which are really good, and we discover we have an extra box. We were planning on giving to others, but they sat elsewhere. They do not come to find us. We are hungry, and decide to just eat the other box because otherwise they'll go cold.

1945: The show announces a ten minute break, and me and Karmen look at each other like, oh crap, the dumplings. The box is half empty, but we give it back anyway. I tell her to say we ate some already, but she doesn't say anything. In fact, they were expecting us to eat the other box anyway. Oh well, we'll just give them the half eatn box of dumplings, not awkward at all, lol!!

2030: We head home on the bus.

2130: I'm back in my dorm, I shower, and my roommate comes out to knock on my door and speak with me, which is awesome. We chat a little, finally, before I go to do my homeowrk and sleep.

I kinda wish I could ditch Karmen; I feel sick of her already sometimes, but at the same time I want her to be with me. But it's ok, I think I'm finding a good satisfactory balance. Plus she is awesome.

back | forth