Throwback

15:37, Sunday, Sept. 01, 2013

In year 12 we opened a time capsule envelope that we had written in year 7 and there honestly wasn't much in mine because I didn't have a lot of friends at the time and I haven't seem to have changed a bit.

Anyway, the most interesting? best? helpful? insightful! letter I received was from the person I least expected it to be, and at this moment in time, it is this letter I spend 10 minutes digging through my house trying to find to re-read and type up in hopes that its blunt truth will inspire me today:

Hey Eve,

It's Lauren. You're 17 now, congratulations! Hope you have a great time in the future. Do you still say Nish, Ping, etc. Have you bloomed yet?

Because you know, in Year 7, you hadn't.

At tennis you couldn't be bothered to run, and it was really annoying, however "cool" or whatever you thought it was. You couldn't be bothered, but you could be better at some things if you tried. Hope you try your hardest for everything now. If you don't, Eve, you'll never get anywhere. You need to give everything your all. You can be the prettiest, smartest, most athletic person on the earth, but if you dress shabbily, don't use your brains and don't train, nobody's going to notice. I'm sorry you have to read this just as you graduate, but I have to tell you.

Well, Eve, you've been a great friend throughout year 7, I hope we are still friends. Go live your life to the full be giving everything your best shot, and Im sure you'll be successful. Remember me, please.

Love,
Lauren.

^Written in print in that preteen sleepover club or sisterhood of travelling pants font.

back | forth